A letter from the president of the Middle East Studies Association

By: Nathan J. Brown, MESA President, Professor of Political Science and International Affairs, George Washington University

September 15, 2014

“… I continue to write for both academic and broader public audiences on Palestinian politics. The feelings of distress, dismay, and even despair that I referred to at the beginning of my letter are ones that I keenly feel on a personal level. If these feelings are strong, I find that they do not always lend themselves to coherent conclusions. I suspect I am not alone in that regard. I therefore end with a personal plea for comity and courtesy in our discussions amongst ourselves. That means that we must come to discussion with our colleagues not only to speak but to listen. Indeed, we should state that obligation in more profound form: we must come not only to express ourselves but also to learn from one another.”

Read or download the letter here: MESA-President-boycotts-2014

Leave a Reply

